Horwitz Prize Committee

Each year, the President of Columbia University appoints a selection committee from among the University faculty, assisted by a panel of internationally known scientists distinguished in the fields of biology, chemistry, biochemistry, and physiology.

  • Laura Landweber, PhD

    • Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Biophysics and of Biological Sciences (in Systems Biology)
    • Vice Chair, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biophysics
    Laura Landweber
  • Henry Colecraft, PhD

    • John C. Dalton Professor, Department of Physiology and Cellular Biophysics
    • Professor of Molecular Pharmacology and Therapeutics
    Headshot photo of Henry Colecraft, PhD
  • Riccardo Dalla-Favera, MD

    • Percy and Joanne Uris Professor of Clinical Medicine
    • Professor of Pathology & Cell Biology
    • Professor of Microbiology and Immunology (in the Institute for Cancer Genetis and the Herbert Irving Comprehensive Cancer Center)
    • Director, Institute for Cancer Genetics
    Headshot of Riccardo Dalla Favera
  • Donna L. Farber, PhD

    • George H. Humphreys, II Professor of Surgical Sciences (in Surgery)
    • Professor of Microbiology & Immunology
    • Principal Investigator, Columbia Center for Translational Immunology
    • Chief, Division of Surgical Sciences
    Headshot photo of Donna Farber, PhD
  • Sankar Ghosh, PhD

    • Silverstein and Hutt Family Professor of Microbiology & Immunology
    • Chair, Department of Microbiology and Immunology
    Headshot of Sankar Ghosh
  • Stephen Goff, PhD

    • Higgins Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Biophysics
    • Professor of Microbiology and Immunology
    • Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute
    Headshot of Stephen Goff
  • Ruben L. Gonzalez Jr., PhD

    • Professor of Chemistry, Department of Chemistry
    Headshot of Ruben Gonzalez
  • Stavros Lomvardas, PhD

    • Herbert and Florence Irving Professor at the Zuckerman Institute
    • Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Biophysics and Neuroscience
    • Principal Investigator at the Zuckerman Institute
    Stavros Lomvardas PhD
  • Carol Prives, PhD

    • DaCosta Professor of Biology, Department of Biological Sciences
    Carol Prives Headshot
  • Zhiguo Zhang, PhD

    • Professor of Epigenomics and Molecular Biology (in Pediatrics, Genetics and Development and in the Institute of Cancer Genetics)
    Photo of Zhiguo Zhang