The Louisa Gross Horwitz Prize

About the 2020 Horwitz Prize Recipients

Columbia University announces Robert Fettiplace, PhD, A. James Hudspeth, MD, PhD, and Christine Petit, MD, PhD as the 2020 recipients of the Louisa Gross Horwitz Prize. For more information please visit the announcement from the CUIMC Newsroom.

For more information, view our list of all past prize recipients.

Robert Fettiplace, PhD

Honoree: Robert Fettiplace, PhD

Professor of Neuroscience, Department of Neuroscience
Univeristy of Wisconsin-Madison


“Tmc1 Deafness Mutations Illuminate Hair Cell Transudction”
Tuesday, November 24, 2020
Time: 12 p.m.



A. James Hudspeth, MD, PhD

Honoree: A. James Hudspeth, MD, PhD

Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute
F.M. Kirby Professor and Head Laboratory of Sensory Neuroscience
The Rockefeller University 


"Your Biological Hearing Aid: Mechanical Amplification by Hair Cells of the Inner Ear”
Tuesday, November 24, 2020
Time: 3:30 p.m.


Christine Petit, MD, PhD

Honoree: Christine Petit, MD, PhD

Professor and Chair of Genetics and Cellular Physiology, 
College de France 
Professor and Director of the Hearing Institute,
Pasteur Institut


“Tracing the Road from the Genetic Dissection of Auditory Molecular Mechanisms to Hearing Restoration”
Thursday, January 28, 2021
Time: 10 a.m.