CUIMC Update - Sept. 8, 2020

September 8, 2020

CUIMC Update is a weekly e-newsletter featuring medical center news and the accomplishments of our faculty, staff, and trainees. Please send your news, honors, and awards to Grants are provided by the Sponsored Projects Administration office.


CUIMC Employee Appreciation Event Features Broadway Stars
All faculty and staff at CUIMC are invited to a virtual celebration featuring Broadway performers on Sept. 23, 2020, in recognition of our collective accomplishments during the COVID-19 pandemic. Screenings will take place at 12:30-1:30 p.m. and 7-8 p.m., and employees should plan on attending one based on their availability. Login information will be shared closer to the event date.

Research Ramps Up After Pause for Pandemic
After the pandemic forced many scientists to put their studies on pause, researchers at VP&S and other CUIMC schools are back on campus with a renewed sense of purpose. Read more.

New Toolkit Equips Health Care Workers with Treatment Information for Opioid Use Disorders
ICAP at the Mailman School of Public Health has released the Approaches for Nurse-led, Community-wide Opioid Responses (ANCOR) toolkit, a new resource for nurses and other health care professionals working on the front lines of the opioid epidemic with up-to-date information on evidence-based tools and practices. Read more and download the toolkit

Upcoming Global and Population Health Student Projects Symposium
The Program for Education in Global and Population Health, part of the Vagelos College of Physicians and Surgeons, invites the CUIMC community to a virtual symposium on Sept. 17, 2020, for student global and population health presentations. The symposium will include a panel discussion with faculty who served as mentors for the projects and a student poster session. View event details and register online.



Natalie Bello, MD, Medicine, will receive $1,760,239 over four years from the National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute for “Cardiac Manifestations of Preeclampsia.”

Kevin Clerkin, MD, Medicine, will receive $851,834 over five years from the National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute for “Identifying Novel Diagnostics and Mechanisms for Cardiac Allograft Vasculopathy.”

Dawn Hershman, MD, Medicine, will receive $416,543 over two years from the National Cancer Institute for “Delays in Acquisition of Oral Antineoplastic Agents.”

William Kreisl, MD, Taub Institute, will receive $4,775,355 over five years from the National Institute on Aging for “Longitudinal Imaging of Microglial Activation in Different Clinical Variants of Alzheimer's Disease.”

John Mann, MD, Psychiatry, will receive $3,281,337 over five years from the National Institute of Mental Health for “Inflammatory, Mitochondrial and Serotonergic Interrelationships in the Pathogenesis of Major Depression.”

Serge Przedborski, MD, PhD, Pathology & Cell Biology, will receive $2,430,057 over five years from the National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke for “Defining Immune Cell Heterogeneity in Human ALS and Mouse Model of the Disease.”

Scott Small, MD, Taub Institute, will receive $15,574,231 over five years from the National Institute on Aging for “Alzheimer's Disease Research Center.”


UPDATED: Rafal Tokarz, PhD, Center for Infection & Immunity, will receive $654,668 over two years from the Cohen (Steven & Alexandra) Foundation for “Improved Detection of Tick-Borne Pathogens by Capture Sequencing.”



The Association of American Physicians, an honorific society of the nation’s leading physician-scientists, has inducted Charles G. Drake, MD, PhD, Medicine, and Adolfo Ferrando, MD, PhD, Pediatrics and Pathology & Cell Biology. 

Dawn Hershman, MD, Medicine, received a professorship from the American Cancer Society in recognition of her impactful research that identifies challenges in the clinic, explores them in a deeper way, such as her investigations into understanding barriers to cancer care delivery, and aims to develop interventions to improve the quality of care provided to patients.

Warren Y.K. Ng, MD, Psychiatry, was nominated by New York Gov. Andrew Cuomo and confirmed by the Senate to serve on the NYS Behavioral Health Services Advisory Council. 

Anil K. Rustgi, MD, Interim Executive Vice President and Dean of the Faculties of Health Sciences and Medicine, is serving as president of the American Pancreatic Association until November.


Gregory Alexander, PhD, was named part of the 2020 Class of Fellows for the International Medical Informatics Association.