Three CUIMC Researchers Named 2016 AAAS Fellows

The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) has named three CUIMC faculty members as 2016 AAAS Fellows.

Max E. Gottesman, MD, PhD Charles H. Revson Professor of Biochemistry & Molecular Biophysics and Microbiology & Immunology

Dr. Gottesman was selected for his fundamental insights leading to the understanding of transcription termination in E. coli and how termination affects other cellular processes. (Section on Biological Sciences)

Wei Gu, PhD Abraham and Mildred Goldstein Professor, Department of Pathology & Cell Biology and Institute of Cancer Genetics

Dr. Gu was selected for his distinguished contributions to the field of protein modifications in modulating stress responses, particularly for acetylation/deacetylation and ubiquitination/deubiquitination in p53-mediated tumor suppression. (Section on Biological Sciences)

Paul Sajda, PhD Professor of Biomedical Engineering and Radiology

Dr. Sajda was selected for his distinguished contributions to the understanding of neural correlates of vision, human perceptual decision-making, and cortically coupled computer vision. (Section on Engineering)

Since 1874, the AAAS has designated select members as Fellows in recognition of their efforts to advance science or its applications. A list of all 2016 AAAS Fellows will appear in the Nov. 25, 2016, issue of Science.