Partnership For Womens Health At Columbia Honors Leaders In Womens Health And Gender-Specific Medicine

February 12, 2001

What: The Partnership for Women’s Health at Columbia University and Honorary Chair Paula Zahn will honor leaders from the media, public and private industry at the Partnership’s Annual Gala and Athena Awards ceremony. Proceeds support the M. Irené Ferrer Professorship in Gender-Specific Medicine at Columbia University.

Who: Athena Awards will be presented to Myrna Blyth, senior vice president and editor-in-chief, Ladies’ Home Journal and MORE magazines (Journalism); Marie Bass and Joanne Howes, co-founders, Bass & Howes (Communications); the Honorable Dr. Wanda Jones, Deputy Assistant Secretary, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (Government); Sam Wolgemuth, president, Freedom Communications Inc. (Education); Dr. W. Allen Schaffer, Chief Medical Officer, Medical Strategy and Health Policy, CIGNA HealthCare (Healthcare).

This year, the Partnership will present its first International Athena Award to Professor Leonardo Reisin, Head of Cardiology Services, Barzilai Medical Center Campus, Ben Gurion University, Ashkelon, Israel. Dr. James O. Hill, professor of pediatrics and director, Center for Human Nutrition, University of Colorado Health Sciences, will receive the Distinguished Partnership Scholar Award. The M. Irené Ferrer Award for Original Research in Gender-Specific Medicine, a grant of $60,000, will be presented to Dr. C. Subah Packer, assistant professor of physiology, Indiana University School of Medicine.

Why: The Partnership for Women’s Health at Columbia University, directed by Marianne Legato, M.D., F.A.C.P., is a unique collaboration between academia and the private sector focusing on gender-specific medical research and educational programs for health care professionals and the public.

M. Irené Ferrer is an internationally known physician whose work integrated outstanding research, patient care, and educational achievements in training whole generations of cardiologists. The professorship will honor Dr. Ferrer’s important contributions to medicine.

Renowned design house Krizia will donate four ensembles from its collection and host a silent auction.

When: Monday, February 12, 2001 7 –10 p.m.

Where: The Cosmopolitan Club 122 East 66th Street (between Lexington and Park Avenues) New York City 212-734-5950

Photo Ops: Recipients receiving awards from Dr. Legato and Paula Zahn Dr. Leonardo Reisin and Ambassador of Israel to the United States David Ivry The latest Krizia collection

Contact: Annie Bayne, Columbia University, 212-305-9746


Columbia University, International Athena Award, Israel, Marianne Legato