P&S Class of 2013 Selects Michael Devlin for Teacher Award

P&S Class of 2013 presents Distinguished Teacher Award to Michael Devlin

Michael Devlin, MD

The P&S Class of 2013 has selected Michael Devlin, MD, professor of clinical psychiatry, to receive the Distinguished Teacher Award at Commencement on May 22.

Devlin is the founder and director of the Clinical Practice III course for students in the major clinical year. This innovative course combines the elements of reflective practice, longitudinal integration of clinical clerkships, and individual mentoring, all of which he believes to be of critical importance to the development of effective medical professionals.

There are many outstanding teachers at P&S, says David Bejar’13, but Dr. Devlin connects with people on a deeper, personal level.

“He teaches by example. By interacting with him, either formally in lecture or informally through conversation, you learn not only the virtues that make a good doctor, but also a good person in general: kindness, humility, patience, and dedication,” Bejar says.

“It is clear from his demeanor when interacting with students in lectures or in small group sessions that he enjoys teaching. He is an engaging, thoughtful, kind and patient professor – and it is a true pleasure to be his student.”

Devlin is a 1982 graduate of P&S and completed his psychiatry residency at Columbia University Medical Center/New York State Psychiatric Institute. Following his residency, he joined the Eating Disorders Research Unit at NYSPI where he works with patients with eating disorders and conducts clinical research.

In addition to his role in medical student education, Devlin also is active in the training and supervision of psychiatry residents, particularly in cognitive behavioral therapy. He is a member of the Virginia Apgar Academy of Medical Educators at P&S, an organization of select P&S faculty members that promotes faculty development and curriculum innovation.

Devlin was selected Distinguished Teacher by the P&S Class of 2011 and has received teacher of the year awards from third-year medical students (2007) and residents in psychiatry (2002).