Jonathan Dworkin Named AAAS Fellow

Jonathan Dworkin

Jonathan Dworkin, PhD, professor of microbiology & immunology at the Vagelos College of Physicians and Surgeons, has been named a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, which is celebrating its 150th anniversary this year.

Election as a fellow honors members whose efforts toward advancing science are considered scientifically or socially distinguished. Dworkin is among 502 scientists and engineers who were elected as fellows of the AAAS this year.

Dworkin was elected to the section on biological sciences. His research focuses on understanding how bacteria survive stressful conditions, particularly nutrient limitation, and how these adaptive responses affect their sensitivity to antibiotics.

Dworkin joined Columbia in 2004. He was named an Irma T. Hirschl Scholar in 2007 and an Ellison Medical Foundation Senior Scholar in Aging in 2009. In 2011, he was named a Burroughs-Wellcome Fund Investigator in the Pathogenesis of Infectious Disease. He is also a member of the Harvey Society and the American Society for Microbiology. At VP&S, he serves on the graduate admissions committee for the microbiology PhD program.


Other Columbians elected this year as fellows of the AAAS: Gisela Winckler, PhD (earth and environmental sciences), and Tian Zheng, PhD (statistics). Learn more about this year’s class of fellows.