Executive Committee: Influential FPO Group Selects Faculty Leaders

George A. "Jack" Cioffi, MD, and John A. Chabot, MD, FACS, were chosen this month to serve as president and vice president, respectively, of ColumbiaDoctors for three more years. 

In addition, Angela Mills, MD, chair of the Department of Emergency Medicine, was elected to her first term to the committee. Ali Mencin, MD, of the Department of Pediatrics, was re-elected to his second term. 

This is the third term for Dr. Cioffi, who is the chair of the Department of Ophthalmology, and Dr. Chabot, chief of the Division of GI/Endocrine Surgery. The pair will continue to lead the Board of Governance’s influential Executive Committee. 

Clockwise from top left: George A. "Jack" Cioffi, John A. Chabot, Ali Mencin, and Angela Mills

“I’m honored to lead such a distinguished organization during this dynamic time, both in the FPO’s evolution and in our nation’s history,” Dr. Cioffi said. 

“Although I feel somewhat humbled by our tumultuous times, it is a privilege and a great honor to be asked to help lead us through the tumult," Dr. Chabot said. "I fully expect that we will emerge a stronger, fitter, and more flexible organization.” 

The nine-member Executive Committee is empowered to “develop, review, and recommend strategic plans, policies, procedures, and budgets to the Board of Governance for approval and will oversee the operations of the FPO on a regular basis between meetings of the full board,” according to the bylaws of the faculty practice.

The committee also supervises the management and operation of ColumbiaDoctors and can make decisions on behalf of the entire board when action is required between meetings.

In May, five faculty members--Marie-Laure D. Romney, MD, Amrita Sethi, MD, Danielle R. Bajakian, MD, John A. Chabot, MD, and Nicholas J. Morrissey, MD--were selected by their peers to fill seats on the FPO board. Those new three-year terms began July 1.