Epic Excellence Recognition Program Honors Preparations

October 16, 2019

The EpicTogether project is on track and exceeding projections as our medical center enters the training stage of the transition to the new electronic medical record and business platform. Reaching this milestone reflects the dedication and commitment of many of those at Columbia University Irving Medical Center.  

The Epic Excellence Recognition Program acknowledges colleagues who are going above and beyond to help their teams prepare for this change. Already, nearly 30 colleagues have been recognized since June and nominations are still open. 

“Epic is more than a new electronic medical record. It’s a huge culture change and the Epic Excellence Recognition Program is a small way of showing how much we appreciate those taking on more work to ensure we are ready,” said Shunichi “Nick” Homma, MD, MHCDS, FACC, chief medical officer of ColumbiaDoctors. “I encourage everyone to take a few moments, fill out the short survey to nominate a colleague, and help us recognize our colleagues.”

To date, 27 faculty and staff have been honored. They include physicians, practice managers, directors, readiness agents, revenue cycle leads, clinical leads, small teams, and others. Some are pictured with Homma in our photo gallery: 

“We’ve celebrated people who have shown enthusiasm, helpfulness, creativity, collaboration, ownership of sharing communications, willingness to take on huge loads of work, new roles and more,” said Homma. “I feel certain that the benefits our staff and patients will see from Epic will make all of this hard work worth it.”

Epic Excellence Recognition Program Honorees

  • Justin Aaron (Medicine - Infectious Diseases)
  • Blenae Abebe (Medicine - Cardiology)
  • Zobeida Altragracia (Neurological Surgery)
  • Tunaidi Ansari (College of Dental Medicine)
  • Larry Beilis (Surgery)
  • Jennifer Beirne (Faculty Practice Organization)
  • Justin Bernardo (Urology)
  • Stephanie Blaney (Orthopedic Surgery)
  • Francine Castillo (Surgery)
  • Yonette DeBarros (Orthopedic Surgery)
  • Yudelka Garcia (School of Nursing Clinical Practice)
  • Lora Glass, MD (Ophthalmology)
  • Diana Hernandez (School of Nursing Clinical Practice)
  • Anna Karavangelas (Orthopedic Surgery)
  • Danielle Katayen (Medicine - Hematology and Oncology)
  • Nabeela Khan (Medicine Core Administration)
  • Michael Kluger, MD (Surgery)
  • Sherry Kohn (Medicine)
  • Amanda Linehan (Faculty Practice Organization)
  • Ali Mencin, MD (Pediatrics)
  • Christina Munoz (Thoracic Surgery)
  • Maria Negron (Medicine - Hematology and Oncology)
  • Tina Oommen (Faculty Practice Organization)
  • Rich Rosenberg, MD (Medicine - Digestive and Liver Diseases)
  • Jessica Singer, MD (General Medicine)
  • Darcel Young (Surgery Education)
  • AnnMarie Zigabarra (Medicine - Cardiology)